Mixed Media Art: LOVE What I Love About You

There are instances wherein one is compelled to make do with what is there. And, there are times when one just has to get out of that wide comfort zone and try something different or totally new. I try to respond to these situations if and when I can. It enforces discipline and serves as an exercise for my creative muscles.

Anyway, to cut the string of ambiguities, I am simply referring to this block of watercolor paper that I bought from a local seller about a year ago. It’s been sitting in my bin for the longest time. The brand was unknown to me at the time of the purchase. I bought it because I’d been looking for an A5 watercolor paper block that was perpetually unavailable at nearby art supply shops. When this paper arrived at the doorstep, I quickly brought it to my studio for testing. Unfortunately, this watercolor paper lacked the qualities I was looking for. I put it away and sulked for a while.

loveaboutyou4

But one fine day, I found myself using the paper again for my mixed-media explorations. I didn’t want to use my other watercolor and mixed-media papers for practice, so I thought to just use this block that I didn’t like. To my surprise, my painting turned out well and I actually found myself staring at it and admiring it. Despite the success, however, I still have my reservations. I don’t think I’m buying this block again. But, for sure, I’ll be using it for more mixed-media art experiments and attempts. One thing I learned about this is that (1) once in a while it’s totally okay to try brands that you’re unfamiliar with if only to satisfy your need/want; and (2) despite the initial disappointments over an item, you should at least learn to use it well and appreciate it. I guess this lesson also applies to people, relationships and situations.

Supplies: watercolor paper, watercolors (Sakura Koi), water-soluble crayons (Caran d’Ache Neocolor II, Faber-Castell gelatos), rubber stamps (We R Memory Keepers, Kaisercraft), ink pads (Ranger), white gel pen (Uni-ball Signo Angelic)

Leave a Reply

